In 1915 the business was first started by brothers Leopoldo and Carmine DeCristofaro in the Frankford section of Philadelphia.
By 1929, they established a shop location at 1201 East Wyoming Avenue (at K Street). Then in 1935 they established an office at Adams Ave. & Arrott St. Leopoldo’s son, Carmine, and Carmine’s son, Paul, continued to run the business through the 40’s, 50’s, & 60’s.
In 1962 Leopoldo’s grandson, Charles, joined the company. After Leopoldo’s death in 1969, son Carmine and grandson Charles ran the company along with Carmine’s second son, Michael. The third generation grandsons, Charles and Mike, incorporated in 1984 and continued to establish more locations in the Philadelphia and NJ area.
7 locations now serve our customers in NE Philadelphia, S. Philadelphia, Rockledge, Bensalem, Springfield, Horsham, Cherry Hill, and Franklinville. Six of Charles Sr.’s children; Charles Jr., Matthew, Theresa, John, Vince, and Daniel have joined the company, each adding their own personal strengths with their respective positions and each continuing to support and serve their community and customers’ needs with knowledge and experience.